Rick Perry Confirmed As Energy Secretary In Swift Vote

The man who, in a sane country, would be starting his second presidential term this year (I had to do it) was confirmed as Secretary of Energy today.

The Senate confirmed Perry after only a few hours of debate on Thursday afternoon, moving unexpectedly quickly on the final cabinet-level member of President Trump’s energy and environment team.


Perry came away with a 62-37 vote, even as some Democrats were concerned about his previously stated views on climate change.

The Senate confirmed Perry after only about three hours of debate on Thursday, moving his nomination quicker than any other energy or environment official in Trump’s cabinet.

Democratic Sens. Mark Warner (Va.), Joe Manchin (W.Va.), Heidi Heitkamp(N.D.), Tom Udall (N.M.), Catherine Cortez Masto (Nev.), Debbie Stabenow(Mich.), Claire McCaskill (Mo.), Jon Tester (Mont.), Tom Carper (Del.) and Joe Donnelly (Ind.), and Independent Sen. Angus King (Maine), voted with all present Republicans to back Perry.

Ryan Zinke was confirmed as head of the Interior Department on Wednesday, and Scott Pruitt took over as administrator of the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA) in February.


Join the conversation as a VIP Member

Trending on RedState Videos