BREAKING: 15th Vote Finally Decides Kevin McCarthy as Speaker of the House

After a ton of drama on Friday night, almost coming to blows, it looks like the question of Speaker is finally settled, after Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-Fl) and Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-CA) came to some sort of understanding that finally got him the support he needed to become speaker.


Gaetz voted “present” on the 14th vote, which wasn’t enough to put McCarthy over and caused McCarthy to go across the room to confront Gaetz. Then Rep. Richard Hudson (R-NC) had to restrain Rep. Mike Rogers (R-AL) from going after Gaetz.

Great coverage by C-Span, for sure.

But after all that went down, Gaetz and McCarthy seem to have come to some sort of agreement. Gaetz, who had voted to adjourn, pulled that back and voted “no,” so they could continue the vote. It was a sign McCarthy didn’t need more time to whip votes.

So then, in the 15th vote, all of the six holdouts then voted “present,” lowering the count needed to win, securing the vote for McCarthy. Those six were Rep. Andy Biggs (R-AZ), Rep. Bob Good (R-VA), Rep. Matt Gaetz (R-FL), Rep. Lauren Boebert (R-CO), Rep. Eli Crane (R-AZ), and Rep. Matt Rosendale (R-MT)


Dave Wasserman from Cook Political called it after it was clear what the result would be, like a regular election.

All of the six holdouts voted “present,” which was enough to lower the vote total and give McCarthy the gavel.

Rep. Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) receives applause, after he is elected Speaker of the House of Representatives. Credit: C-Span

So the final vote total was:

McCarthy 216
Jeffries 212
Present 6


Join the conversation as a VIP Member

Trending on RedState Videos