Chris Christie Signs No Tax Hike Pledge From Group That Has Previously Attacked Him On Taxes

On Wednesday, Chris Christie, along with other Republican candidates, signed the Americans for Tax Reform pledge not to raise taxes, certainly a winning proposition among Republicans. The vow states that Christie would “oppose and veto any and all efforts to increase taxes,” something which Christie has had a problem doing in the past. In fact, he was knocked pretty hard for that. By the Americans for Tax Reform.


Here is what the group had to say today:

Governor Christie has consistently vetoed $1.6 billion in annual tax hikes passed by the Democrat-run legislature. Their attempt to raise the top tax bracket from 8.97 percent to 10.75 percent and impose a 15 percent corporate tax surcharge has been included in each of the five budgets sent to Christie. Each time, the Governor’s veto pen has been the only thing standing in the way of those taxes passing in the Garden State.

“Governor Chris Christie has vetoed more tax hikes than any other Governor in modern American history,” said Grover Norquist, president of Americans for Tax Reform. “And he made those vetoes stick. Without the Christie governorship, New Jersey would be somewhere between Detroit and Greece.”

Fine words about a fine record, but slightly different from the group’s slam against the governor last year.

New Jersey Governor Chris Christie recently presented his budget recommendations to the legislature for the next fiscal year. Though the proposal holds the line on most significant taxes, it does contain a number of tax law changes that would result in higher taxes on small businesses and consumers.

The group also sent Christie a letter about the tax hike, calling the proposal a “cash grabs aimed at raising tens of millions of dollars” rather than being about tax law fairness.


Still, one hopes the pledge will at least be a conscience guide, especially considering how many candidates signed on, including [mc_name name=’Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL)’ chamber=’senate’ mcid=’R000595′ ], Scott Walker, [mc_name name=’Sen. Ted Cruz (R-TX)’ chamber=’senate’ mcid=’C001098′ ], Gov. Rick Perry, Carly Fiorina, Gov. Bobby Jindal, Rick Santorum, Dr. Ben Carson, Gov. Mike Huckabee, [mc_name name=’Sen. Rand Paul (R-KY)’ chamber=’senate’ mcid=’P000603′ ], John Kasich, and even [mc_name name=’Sen. Lindsey Graham (R-SC)’ chamber=’senate’ mcid=’G000359′ ].

One candidate who has not signed the pledge? Jeb Bush. Something Christie noted with relish on Wednesday.


Join the conversation as a VIP Member

Trending on RedState Videos