FLASHBACK: House Members Who Voted Against This Supercommittee Sham

It’s worth remembering that 66 Republican House members did not succumb to Speaker Boehner’s high pressure tactics and voted against putting the American people through this sham they’re calling the Supercommittee. Republican Study Committee Chairman Jim Jordan, who led the charge against the debt ceiling deal, was threatened with the loss of his seat through redistricting for his defiance of Boehner. We will never know what kind of arm-twisting other members faced behind the scenes.

Some of these members may yet face retribution from “The Party” in the form of loss of support when it comes time for re-election. If your representative is on this list, it might be a good time to call or email to thank him for doing the right thing and if you’re able, send a donation. If your Congress member voted for the debt deal, you might want to take a minute to let her know you haven’t forgotten that she voted for this scam that everyone knew would accomplish absolutely nothing.

We need to hold our members of Congress accountable. There are a lot of names missing from this list. People who were elected with the support of the Tea Party and conservatives in 2010 but who caved to the pressure of “The Party” when the pressure was on. They gave us great excuses about this being “the best deal they could get” and we all knew it was bunk. They thought we would believe the lie that a secret Supercommittee could fix this problem while the rest of Congress shirked their duty. Sorry. We don’t fall for that anymore.

Todd Akin MO-2
Justin Amash MI-3
Michele Bachmann MN-6
Rob Bishop UT-1
Mo Brooks AL-5
Paul Broun GA-10
Ann Marie Buerkle NY-25
Dan Burton IN-5
Jason Chaffetz UT-3
Chip Cravaack MN-8
Geoff Davis KY-4
Scott DesJarlais TN-4
Jeffrey Duncan SC-3
Jeff Flake AZ-6
Chuck Fleischmann TN-3
John Fleming LA-4
J. Randy Forbes VA-4
Trent Franks AZ-2
Scott Garrett NJ-5
Phil Gingrey GA-11
Louie Gohmert TX-1
Trey Gowdy SC-4
Tom Graves GA-9
Morgan Griffith VA-9
Ralph M. Hall TX-4
Andy Harris MD-1
Vicky Hartzler MO-4
Tim Huelskamp KS-1
Randy Hultgren IL-14
Duncan D. Hunter CA-52
Timothy V. Johnson IL-15
Walter B. Jones NC-3
Jim Jordan OH-4
Steve King IA-5
Jack Kingston GA-1
Raul Labrador ID-1
Doug Lamborn CO-5
Jeff Landry LA-3
Tom Latham IA-4
Connie Mack FL-14
Tom McClintock CA-4
Mick Mulvaney SC-5
Randy Neugebauer TX-19
Devin Nunes CA-21
Ron Paul TX-14
Steve Pearce NM-2
Ted Poe TX-2
Bill Posey FL-15
Ben Quayle AZ-3
Denny Rehberg MT-1
Martha Roby AL-2
Todd Rokita IN-4
Dennis Ross FL-12
Steve Scalise LA-1
David Schweikert AZ-5
Austin Scott GA-8
Tim Scott SC-1
Steve Southerland FL-2
Cliff Stearns FL-6
Marlin Stutzman IN-3
Scott Tipton CO-3
Michael R. Turner OH-3
Joe Walsh IL-8
Lynn Westmoreland GA-3
Joe Wilson SC-2
Kevin Yoder KS-3