Let's Tell AP Board: "No Teabag!"

AP published a piece by Charles Babington recently in which it used the word “teabaggers” to describe supporters of the Tea Party movement.   As many elsewhere on the web (h/t to Hotair.com) have noted, by using it AP is mainstreaming the obnoxious term.  Let’s say “enough.”

I’m writing every board member of AP and objecting, and I hope you will join me.    Below are the AP board members and what contact information I could find in a few hours.  If you come up with better info, please let me know.

NOTE:  Most of the board members also hold high positions at member news outlets, so our objections may just do double duty.


William Dean Singleton,Vice Chairman and CEO

MediaNews Group

101 W. Colfax Avenue, Suite 1100

Denver, Colorado 80202

Tel 303-954-6360

Fax 303-954-6320

[email protected]

Mary Junck, Vice Chairman

Lee Enterprises

201 N. Harrison St.

Davenport, IA 52801-1939

Tel 563-383-2100

Fax 563-323-2698

[email protected]

Donna J. Barrett, President and CEO

Community Newspaper Holdings

3500 Colonnade Pkwy, Ste. 600

Birmingham, AL 35243

Tel 205-298-7100

Fax 205-298-7108

Elizabeth Brenner, Executive Vice President

Journal Communications Inc

P.O. Box 371

Milwaukee, WI 53201

Tel 414-224-2954

Fax 414-224-2649

[email protected]

Craig A. Dubow, President and CEO

Gannett Co., Inc.

7950 Jones Branch Drive

McLean, Virginia 22107-0910

Phone: 703-854-6000

Fax: 703-364-0855

[email protected]

R. Jack Fishman, Publisher and Editor

Citizen Tribune

1609 W. First North Street

Morristown, TN 37814

Tel 423-581-5630

Boisfeuillet (Bo) Jones, Vice Chairman

The Washington Post Company

1150 15th Street NW

Washington, DC 20071

[email protected]

[email protected]

Tel 202-334-6000

Fax 202-334-4536

David Lord, Vice Chairman

Pioneer Newspapers, Inc.

221 First Avenue West, Suite 405

Seattle, WA 98119-4224

Tel 206-284-4424

Fax 206-282-214

R. John Mitchell, Publisher

Rutland Herald

P.O. Box 668

27 Wales Steet

Rutland, VT 05702-0668

Fax 802-775-2423

[email protected]

Steven O. Newhouse, Chairman

Advance Publications

950 Fingerboard Road

Staten Island, New York 10305

Tel 718-981-1234

Fax 718-981-1456

David M. Paxton, President and CEO

Paxton Media

201 S. 4th St.

Paducah, KY 42003-1524

Tel  270-575-8600

Charles V. Pittman, Senior Vice President-Publishing_

Schurz Communications Inc.

1301 E. Douglas Road

Mishawaka, IN 46545

Tel 574.247.7237

Fax 574.247.7233

[email protected]

Gary Pruitt, Chairman, President and CEO

The McClatchy Company

2100 Q Street

Sacramento, CA 95816-6899

Tel 916-321-1855

Fax  916-321-1996

[email protected]

Michael E. Reed, CEO

GateHouse Media, Inc.

350 Willowbrook Office Park

Fairport, NY 14450

Tel (585) 598-0030

Fax (585) 248-2631

Jon Rust, Co-president

Rust Communications

301 Broadway Street

Cape Girardeau, Missouri 63701-7330

Tel 573-335-6611

Fax 573-334-8882

Dunia Shive, CEO

Belo Corporation

400 South Record Street

Dallas, Texas 75202-4841

Tel 214-977-6606

Fax 214-977-6603

Paul C. Tash

Chairman and CEO, Times Publishing Company

Editor, St. Petersburg Times

490 First Avenue South

St. Petersburg, FL 33701

Tel 727-893-8887

Fax 727-892-2328

[email protected]

David Westin, President

ABC News

7 West 66th Street

New York, NY 10023

Tel 212.456.6200

Fax 212.456.4292

H. Graham Woodlief

Vice President

Media General, Inc.

333 E Franklin Street

Richmond, VA  23219

Tel 804-649-6000

Fax 804-649-6898

Sam Zell, Chairman and CEO

Tribune Company

435 N. Michigan Ave.

Chicago, IL 60611

Tel 312-222-9100

Fax 312-222-1573