Fifty Colorado lawmakers voted to repeal death penalty in 2009, would have protected Aurora mass murderer

In 2009, Colorado’s death penalty was saved by a single State Senate vote. Had anti-death penalty forces in Colorado been able to rustle up one more vote, the Aurora Batman movie theater mass murderer would be guaranteed roughly fifty years of ice cream, movie nights, free gym membership, free health care and the hope for a prison break, or perhaps murdering a prison guard.

Instead, he may face justice.

The Democrat-controlled Colorado State House of Representatives voted 33-32 to repeal the death penalty on April 19, 2009. Thirty-two Democrats and one Republican voted to protect killers. Twenty-six Republicans and six Democrats voted to continue to let juries who had heard the facts and testimony, along with prosecutors and appellate judges, decide if a death penalty was appropriate in a particular murder case. Two Democrats from Aurora were among those Representatives who voted to repeal the state’s death penalty.

The bill then went to the State Senate, where repeal failed by a single vote, 17 to 18. Seventeen Democrats voted to protect killers. All fourteen Republicans, and four Democrats, voted to leave it to juries to decide. Two Democrats from Aurora were among those Senators who voted to repeal the state’s death penalty.

Barring a federal terrorism death penalty prosecution and subsequent death penalty (the federal death penalty continues even in states without a state death penalty), the Aurora movie theater mass murderer would be enjoying half a century of working on his pecs and glutes, and hanging out in the free law library, had these 50 state lawmakers flipped one vote.

Colorado Representatives who voted to repeal the death penalty in 2009:

Dennis Apuan, D-Colorado Springs
Debbie Benefield, D-Arvada
Terrance Carroll, D-Denver
Lois Court, D-Denver
Mark Ferrandino, D-Denver
Randy Fischer, D-Fort Collins
Gwyn Green, D-Golden
Dickey Lee Hullinghorst, D-Boulder
Joel Judd, D-Denver
Daniel Kagan, D-Cherry Hills Village
John Kefalas, D-Fort Collins
Andy Kerr, D-Lakewood
Jeanne Labuda, D-Denver
Claire Levy, D-Boulder
Don Marostica, R-Loveland
Beth McCann, D-Denver
Buffie McFadyen, D-Pueblo
Wes McKinley, D-Walsh
Michael Merrifield, D-Colorado Springs
Joe Miklosi, D-Denver
Sal Pace, D-Pueblo
Cherilyn Peniston, D-Westminster
Jack Pommer, D-Boulder
Dianne Primavera, D-Broomfield
Joe Rice, D-Littleton
Jim Riesberg, D-Greeley
Su Ryden, D-Aurora
Christine Scanlon, D-Dillon
Sue Schafer, D-Wheat Ridge
Judy Solano, D-Brighton
Nancy Todd, D-Aurora
Ed Vigil, D-Fort Garland
Paul Weissmann, D-Louisville

Colorado Senators who voted to repeal the state’s death penalty in 2009:

Bob Bacon, D-Fort Collins
Betty Boyd, D-Lakewood
Morgan Carroll, D-Aurora
Joyce Foster, D-Denver
Dan Gibbs, D-Silverthorne
Peter Groff, D-Denver
Rollie Heath, D-Boulder
Evie Hudak, D-Westminster
Moe Keller, D-Wheat Ridge
Linda Newell, D- Littleton
Chris Romer, D-Denver
Paula Sandoval, D-Denver
Gail Schwartz, D-Snowmass Village
Brandon Shaffer, D-Longmont
Abel Tapia, D-Pueblo
Jennifer Veiga, D-Denver
Suzanne Williams, D-Aurora

It would be nice to see the Democrat Media Complex interview these 50 now and get them on the record why they believe the Aurora mass murderer has an absolute right to life.

One final note: the Death Penalty Information Center, which is the George Soros- and EU-funded nonprofit that opposes the death penalty in all cases, enjoys great access to its friends in the Democrat Media Complex. But they have been curiously silent today amidst the furor over the mass murder in Colorado. Shouldn’t they be quoted on days like this on why the death penalty is bad, and not just years later when the victims are long forgotten?


The author can be reached via Twitter.