Which NC "Metropolitan Statistical Area" for sustainability do you live in?

North Carolina has already legislated Agenda 21 for North Carolina.

It is called SENATE BILL 897 which HAS been signed into law by Gov. Perdue in June of 2010.

Section 13.5 makes Agenda 21 legal in North Carolina.

Here are some of the most disturbing parts of Section 13.5 entitled: SUSTAINABLE COMMUNITIES TASK FORCE
Ҥ 143B-344.34. North Carolina Sustainable Communities Task Force Рfindings.

(a) The General Assembly finds that the rapid growth of the urban and suburban areas of North Carolina and the economic challenges facing many of the State’s urban cores, rural areas, and smaller communities create a significant need for the strategic use of resources to plan and accommodate healthy and equitable development without compromising natural systems and the needs of future generations of North Carolinians.

(b) The General Assembly finds that the following principles describe sustainable development for North Carolina’s communities:

(1) Better transportation choices. – Offering safe, reliable, and economical motorized and nonmotorized transportation options to decrease household transportation costs

Equitable, affordable housing. – Encouraging the provision to North Carolina citizens of all ages, incomes, races, and ethnicities expanded location-, water-, and energy-efficient housing choices that increase mobility, decrease the impact on existing water and energy infrastructure, and lower the combined cost of housing and transportation.

(4) Support of existing communities. – Targeting public funds toward existing communities that are using strategies such as transit-oriented, mixed-use development, and land recycling to increase community revitalization, enhance the efficiency and cost-effectiveness of public works investments, and protect rural landscapes.

Recognize and support communities and neighborhoods. – Preserving and enhancing the unique characteristics of rural, urban, and suburban communities by investing in healthy, safe, and walkable neighborhoods.

There is created within the Department of Environment and Natural Resources the North Carolina Sustainable Communities Task Force to lead and support the State’s sustainable communities initiatives. The duties of the Task Force shall be as follows:

(2) To promote regional partnerships and to assist local governments and regional or interlocal organizations in North Carolina in seeking and managing funding from federal, public, or private initiatives, grant programs, or donors related to the planning, development, or redevelopment of the State’s communities in a sustainable manner.

The Governor shall appoint one member who is a representative of a nonprofit organization involved in the planning, advocacy, or creation of sustainable development.

and one member who is a representative of a council of government or other regional collaborative organization

Ҥ 143B-344.37. North Carolina Sustainable Communities Grant Fund.

(a) Establishment. – The North Carolina Sustainable Communities Grant Fund is established in the Department of Environment and Natural Resources, and the North Carolina Sustainable Communities Task Force within that Department shall be responsible for administering the Fund.

(b) Purposes. – Funds in the North Carolina Sustainable Communities Grant Fund shall be used, as available, to provide funding to regional bodies, cities, or counties to improve regional planning efforts that integrate housing and transportation decisions, to increase the capacity to improve land use and zoning and to provide up to fifty percent (50%) of any required local matching funds for recipients of Federal Sustainable Communities Planning Grants and any other federal grants related to sustainable development and requiring local matching funds. In order to receive funds under this section, regions must meet all of the following requirements:

(1) The regional body, city, or county is a part of a regional sustainable

development partnership that includes any of the metro regions as defined in

G.S. 143B-344.38(b). Partnerships may also include any Metropolitan Planning Organizations, Regional Planning Organizations, regional transit agencies, and representation from involved State agencies.

Ҥ 143B-344.38. North Carolina Sustainable Communities Task Force Рreports.

(2) Population, employment, building permit, and related socioeconomic data for each metro region of the State, including 25-year projections of population and employment and any other demographic trends the Task Force finds relevant, with commentary on any changing trends in the data that might affect planning for sustainable development and infrastructure. Where possible, the Task Force shall use data already collected by the State Demographer, the United States Census Bureau, and any other State or federal agency.

(3) An inventory and description of State policies and programs that influence either positively or negatively the ability to develop sustainable communities.

(5) A list of the projects for which funding was distributed to local governments and regional or interlocal organizations in North Carolina for sustainable planning, development, or redevelopment under G.S. 143B-344.35.

(8) An overview of all State funding initiatives (including State-allocated federal funding initiatives) used to support housing, infrastructure, water quality, and land preservation, including, at a minimum, the following:

f. The Congestion Relief and Intermodal Transportation 21st Century Fund.

g. The North Carolina Main Street Program and the Main Street Solutions Fund.

(b) For purposes of this section, “metro region of the State” includes the following

Statistical Areas defined by the United States Census Bureau:

(1) The Research Triangle region (made up of the Durham-Chapel Hill and the

Raleigh-Cary Metropolitan Statistical Areas).

(2) The North Carolina portion of the Charlotte-Gastonia-Concord Metropolitan Statistical Area.

(3) The Greensboro-Winston-Salem-High Point Combined Statistical Area.

(4) The Asheville Metropolitan Statistical Area.

(5) The Hickory-Lenoir-Morganton Metropolitan Statistical Area.

(6) The Fayetteville Metropolitan Statistical Area.

(7) The Wilmington Metropolitan Statistical Area.

(8) The Greenville Metropolitan Statistical Area.

(9) The Jacksonville Metropolitan Statistical Area.

(10) The Rocky Mount Metropolitan Statistical Area.

(11) The Goldsboro Metropolitan Statistical Area.