Et Tu, Paul Ryan?

Evidently Paul Ryan does not want to run for President; he voted for the amended fiscal cliff bill HR8, ironically titled “American Taxpayer Relief Act of 2012.” His likely rival, Senator Marco Rubio, voted no.

Eric Erickson of RedState.com tweeted, “The number of people who’ve convinced themselves this bill means the GOP cut taxes is pretty hysterical.”

This is the legislation that will raise $41 in taxes for every $1 dollar in spending cuts. H.R.8 does not address the core problems; it sets up three more fiscal cliffs in the next three months.

It also includes extensions of specific tax credits and deductions, unemployment benefits, agricultural programs, modification of sequestration, even an extension of special expensing rules for certain film and television productions. As is typical in D.C. there is a mile-long list of special interest goodies included in HR8. Read it here: http://thehill.com/images/stories/blogs/flooraction/jan2012/senatecliff.pdf

Speaker Boehner voted in favor of the legislation, while House Majority Leader Eric Cantor (R-Va.) and Majority Whip Kevin McCarthy (R-Calif.) voted no, setting up a battle for Boehner’s speakership in the incoming Congress. Boehner was overheard on the House floor saying, “Am I having a nightmare, or what?”

Four Texas Republicans voted for the bill: Pete Sessions of Dallas, Kevin Brady of Conroe, Mac Thornberry of Wichita Falls, and Lamar Smith of San Antonio. Ron Paul did not vote.

Incoming freshman Texas Senator Ted Cruz commented, “Sadly, the Senate began 2013 by passing $620 billion in new taxes and just $15 billion in spending ‘cuts’ mere minutes after the bill was drafted. Meanwhile, the real crisis – spending money we don’t have and jeopardizing our children’s future – remains totally unaddressed.”

Thank you to the following Republican Congressmen from Texas for taking a principled stand and voting against H.R.8:

Louie Gohmert @replouiegohmert
Ted Poe @JudgeTedPoe
Sam Johnson @SamsPressShop
Ralph Hall
Jeb Hensarling @RepHensarling
Joe Barton @RepJoeBarton
John Culberson @CongCulberson
Michael McCaul @McCaulPressShop
Mike Conaway @ConawayTX11
Kay Granger @RepKayGranger
Bill Flores @RepBillFlores
Randy Neugebauer @RandyNeugebauer
Pete Olson @PeteOlson
Quico Canseco @cansecotx23
Kenny Marchant @RepKenMarchant
Michael Burgess @michaelcburgess
Blake Farenthold @farenthold
John Carter @RepJohnCarter