Conservative Leaders Endorse Blackwell

A cross section of conservative leaders today threw their backing to Ken Blackwell for the job of Republican National Committee chairman. The group, which was organized by the Council for National Policy, includes 23 economic, social and foreign policy conservatives.

The 168 members of the RNC will elect the next chairman later this month. Among those signing the letter was Morton Blackwell, a Republican national committeeman from Virginia. Blackwell (no relation to Ken) distributed a list of 37 questions for the RNC chairman candidates. All six completed the survey.

Ken Blackwell’s answers were among the most comprehensive. The former Ohio secretary of state and treasurer has strong ties to conservatives dating several decades. He currently serves on the boards of Club for Growth, National Rifle Association and National Taxpayers Union, and he is a fellow at Family Research Council. He was vice chairman of the Platform Committee at the Republican National Convention in Minneapolis.

The endorsement followed a 90-minute discussion Friday. I was invited to participate in the meeting and signed the letter. Some of the endorsers, including Eagle Forum founder Phyllis Schlafly, have already publicly stated their support for Blackwell. Others were encouraged to reach out to grassroots conservatives in hopes of swaying the 168 members of the RNC.

Those signing the letter include:

Gary Aldrich, Chairman, CNP Action, Inc.
Morton C. Blackwell, Virginia Republican National Committeeman
Robert B. Bluey, Contributing Editor, RedState
L. Brent Bozell, Founder and President, Media Research Center
Kellyanne Conway, CEO and President, the polling company, inc./WomanTrend
T. Kenneth Cribb, Jr., Former Domestic Advisor to President Reagan
James C. Dobson, Ph.D., Founder and Chairman, Focus on the Family
Becky Norton Dunlop, President, Council for National Policy
Stuart W. Epperson, Chairman, Salem Communications Corporation
Steve Forbes, Chairman & CEO, Forbes Media
Dr. Ronald Godwin, Vice Chancellor, Liberty University
Rebecca Hagelin, Author and Conservative Columnist
Colin Hanna, President, Let Freedom Ring
David Keene, Chairman, American Conservative Union
Tim LaHaye, Founder and President, Tim LaHaye Ministries
Ed Meese, Past President, Council for National Policy
James C. Miller, Past President, Council for National Policy
Tony Perkins, President Family Research Council
Ken Raasch, Chairman & CEO, Creative Brands Group
Alfred S. Regnery, Publisher, The American Spectator
Phyllis Schlafly, President, Eagle Forum
Pat Toomey, President, Club for Growth
Richard Viguerie, Chairman, ConservativeHQ.com